POLLS     NHL STATS     SEARCH

TRENDING NOW


Elliotte Friedman Reveals Real Reason the NHL Allowed Stars' Controversial Goal to Count


PUBLICATION
Daniel Lucente
May 12, 2025  (9:35)
SHARE THIS STORY
FOLLOW US

Dallas Stars celebrate a goal scored against the Winnipeg Jets
Photo credit: Sportsnet

The Stars-Jets Game 3 was not without its fair share of controversy, and NHL insider Elliotte Friedman provided some clarity as to why the goal counted.

Fans of the Winnipeg Jets probably grew frustrated with the contentious call that determined Game 3 versus the Dallas Stars.
In the third period, Alexander Petrovic tallied the ultimate game-winner in controversial circumstances as to whether or not it should have counted.
Petrovic was driving to the net and deflected the puck with his skate while positioned at the goal line. The on-ice referees signaled it was a good goal, and following an eight-minute review, the call was upheld.

Friedman reveals that there was no kicking motion, but rather directed

Sportsnet's Elliotte Friedman reported officials believed there was no "distinct kicking motion," which is important according to NHL Rule 37.4.
"They felt it was a directed puck, not a kicked puck. That's one issue," Friedman reported after the game. "The other thing here is they feel (Connor) Hellebuyck doesn't deflect it into the net - he propels it into the net. So even if it was a kicked puck, they felt very strongly that it wasn't directed in, it was propelled in, and that's why they decided to count it as a goal."
Under the rule, a goal shall be rejected if the puck is caused to enter the net by a willful kicking motion of a player, even if the puck deflects off another player subsequently.
The lengthy review was due to the need to look at many replay angles. Despite the controversy, the goal stood and gave Dallas even more momentum.
Two additional goals were added by the Stars to make the game out of hand, yet Petrovic's goal still stood as the game-changer.
Jets coach Scott Arniel wasn't happy with the call and with what he was told by the referees afterwards.
"The rule states that if a puck gets kicked, hits a body or a stick of anybody else other than a goaltender, it counts as a goal. It hit our goaltender's stick and went in the net. That is no goal," Arniel said. "They said that Helle propelled the puck in. I haven't seen the word propel in the rule book.

"They made the decision, we've got to live with it."
Game 4 on Tuesday in Dallas will begin at 7 p.m. CT.
POLL
MAI 12   |   147 ANSWERS
Elliotte Friedman Reveals Real Reason the NHL Allowed Stars' Controversial Goal to Count

Do you agree with Elliotte Friedman's reasoning?

Yes3725.2 %
No11074.8 %
List of polls

HOCKEYLATEST.COM
COPYRIGHT @2025 - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
TERMS  -  POLICIES