HOCKEYLATEST  /  NHL  /  NEWS

Bizarre Rule Leaves Player with Two Penalty Shots after One Breakaway

Published October 19, 2023 at 2:19 PM
BY DAWSON MCKENZIE

In a bizarre play that occurred in the Champions League, one player ended up with two penalty shots after one breakaway.

Weird Rule Gives Player Two Penalty Shots After One Breakaway



In a play that happened in the Champions Hockey League, a tournament that involves the best teams from six top-tier European hockey leagues, resulted in a player getting two penalty shots after one breakaway. While this sounds insane to the average North American hockey enjoyer, the video actually makes a bit of sense.




The player failed to convert either of the penalty shots, however, a European rule also gives the opposing team a penalty when a penalty shot is not scored. This resulted in the player getting two tripping penalties on the play.

CHL Rules Are Insane



The two rules above are interesting, to say the least. However, another CHL rule would raise some eyebrows in North America as well. The rule states that a team may score as many goals as possible on a powerplay, without the powerplay ending. For the penalty to end early, the team on the penalty kill would have to score.

While this seems totally backwards, it might go a long way in encouraging players not to take penalties. What do you think?
POLL
October 19   |   71 answers
Bizarre Rule Leaves Player with Two Penalty Shots after One Breakaway

Do you think that a player should get 2 penalty shots?

Yes1216.9 %
No5983.1 %
LIST OF POLL
Latest 10 stories